Finding the cure for finals fever

BY TATIANA CAMPIGLIA
News Editor

Chestnuts roasting on an open fire, finals nipping at your toes. It’s study season at the County College of Morris (CCM) and students are whipping out their textbooks.

Many students have their choice of studying techniques and routines for this chaotic time of the semester. Figuring out what works best can sometimes be difficult when there are multiple ways to absorb information in an efficient fashion. Every student is unique in the sense of applying different study methods to help them achieve the grade they desire.

“I loved starting study groups. It may sound corny nowadays, I feel, but they really do work,” said Maria Saldana, business alumna of CCM. “I would ask other students in my classes to meet up somewhere on campus with their notes and we’d play competitive study games.”

Study groups generate energy and help students learn in a dynamic manner by engaging thought in a social setting. Effective study groups should have roughly 3-4 people and one group leader to keep everyone on task and set a schedule for meeting dates. Every member should contribute and take the study group sessions seriously to better the overall repercussion for everyone.

“I found it to be very efficient when it came to studying because everyone would talk about the subject and you’d really grasp the information,” added Saldana. “Plus, I met my closest friends by doing that.”

To study adequately, students need to find their study “spot.” When the spot has been decided, it’s time to actually study. Yes, actually sit down and study. This can be difficult for some people: getting started on studying. Once the ball gets rolling, the hard part is over.

Studying can be like working out for the brain. The brain, just like the body, needs breaks from the strenuous work being put in. It is recommended to take 15 minute breaks between every hour of studying.

“I like to set goals for myself. I’d get through 2 chapters and take a break. I’d go to Starbucks and get a coffee during my break,” said Elizabeth Manella, general studies alumna of CCM. “If I was studying for a test, I’d study a quarter of it and take a five to 10 minute break, then go back to it. When I try to cram it in all at once, it doesn’t help me. So if you come back to it, back and forth, it’s helpful.”

Try to make studying fun. Color code your notes, make your own study guides and quiz yourself. Make mock exams in the beginning and then start studying for them until the material is ingrained in your brain. Try to always attend the review lectures. Most importantly, really be fascinated in the information and want to learn more about the material.

Leave a Reply

