Deadline demands drain transfer students

BY ROSE PIZZUTI
Contributor

The County College of Morris (CCM) is a community college that allows students to focus on their general education classes with a focus in a major which interests them. With the goal of receiving an associate’s degree, after about two years, students tend to transfer to a four year school to complete their bachelor’s degree.

Deadlines approach at various rates depending on the university in question, many ending in mid-April.

“Between work and school, the deadline keeps creeping up on me,” said Anita Karr, biology major at CCM. “Most of my classmates have numerous responsibilities to handle other than school.”

69 percent of students that attend full-time community colleges, work as well. About 33 percent of students work full time in addition to school, according to the Community College Research Center.

“CCM was a choice I made for my family,” said Megan Kranz, early childhood major at CCM.  “My sister is very sick and this school allowed me to not only stay close to home, but also saved my family money. I am a little nervous to transfer and leave my family, but CCM has given me an opportunity to reach my goal of becoming a teacher.”

The stresses of family situations and working crazy hours, along with studying and trying to get accepted into the college that is perfect fit, seem to be a great deal for students to handle.

Schools often have a lengthy application process which includes essays and answering multiple personal questions. Letters of recommendations are often required, as well. On top of that, students face a fee to apply that can be anywhere between $50 to $100 per application.

Casey Coleman, a nursing major and softball player at CCM, has already completed her applications to multiple four year schools. When completing her junior year of high school, she tore her ACL, which almost ended her shot at playing at the collegiate level.

“CCM gave me the chance to continue my education and athletic career,” Coleman said. “I lost a lot of interest in coaches after my injury and basically had to start over with the application process after our successful season this past spring.”

The application process is a bitter-sweet time for most students. Yes, it is a big step toward the future, but it is also accompanied with pressure on grades, time, and financials.

Leave a Reply

