Outgoing students finalize future plans

BY MARISA GOGLIA
Copy Editor

While the familiar trope of incoming first-year students becoming acquainted with the campus plays out, second- year students are in the final stages of transferring to a four-year institution within the coming months.

A yearly survey found on ccm.edu, conducted by the Office of Career Services and Cooperative Education, concluded that 79 percent of the graduating class of 2014 had either transferred to a public or private New Jersey university or an out-of state institution to pursue their bachelor’s degree.

“This year we’re not going to be too sure yet, where students go,” said Kari Hawkins, coordinator of transfer services. “But if we look at the last few years of where most CCM students have gone, in-state popular choices are always Montclair, William Patterson, Rutgers and Ramapo. The top out-of-state schools, probably East Stroudsburg because they offer reduced out-of-state tuition for New Jersey residents and Coastal Carolina has always come up as a top choice for transfer students.”

According to a 2007-2014 American survey by the New Jersey Business and Industry Association, 11,674 young people ages 18-34 left New Jersey, the highest exodus for any age group surveyed.

Despite the enticement of new environments with an out-of-state experience, Hawkins said, state schools are a beneficial option for most students because of location, affordability and transfer of credit.

“They are [schools] under the New Jersey statewide Transfer Agreement, so that students who earn a degree A.A. or A.S. are protected when they transfer their credits and the general education requirement is waived at the four year school,” Hawkins said. “Then there is location. There’s a reason more students go to Montclair and William Patterson than Rowan and Stockton because they either want to commute or stay local to the area.”

During her final months at CCM, Spyridoula Fotinis, an international studies major, is contemplating two universities. “I’m trying to figure out more so in D.C. either American University or more so in state maybe Rutgers,” Fotinis said. “The school in D.C. that I’m looking at they take most of my credits, which is nice. But for me, is it going to be a series of catching up on a course or can I take classes that I really enjoy? Also, financial is a big part.”

However, Fotinis finds the selection process difficult, “Yesterday was out-ofstate. But as of today, I’m gearing more towards in-state. Financially, I have more room for my undergrad,” Fotinis said. “I really enjoy languages and Rutgers has a good language program, that might be smarter and then I’ll intern in New York City. But, out-of-state definitely for masters. I know if my friend does go out-ofstate for her masters, I do have the option to get an apartment together because we’ll probably end up going to the same university.

Jasmine Smith, a fine arts major, is looking almost exclusively at out-of-state schools. “I want to do cartooning, animated storyboarding and comic making. Sequential arts is what I’m aiming for and there’s not a lot of schools that offer that in New Jersey,” Smith said. “CalArts is a huge animation school. It’s on the west coast and I’ve never been to California before and that is an adventure in itself.”

Since Walt Disney is named founder of CalArts, Smith has aspirations to work for the multimillion dollar corporation one day. “I want to work for Disney and if I could work for Pixar that would be pretty cool,” said Smith.” Disney is what I’m aiming for. Pixar is more 3D animation and that is not where my focus is. But if I can learn how to do that and obtain a skill, that would be neat. Making my own TV show of comics for entertainment for people I find that fun to do.”

As second-year students divulge their future plans, perhaps the first-year student should also be giving thought as to where they would like to transfer.

Leave a Reply

