Students find solutions to high textbook costs

By Nicole Darrah
Entertainment Editor

The cost of college textbooks seems to be perpetually increasing. Students often purchase their materials through their schools’ own bookstore, but with the high book costs, students have been reaching out to various sources to get their required texts.
Some students choose to remain loyal to their school’s bookstore.

“I buy my books from the bookstore in the Student Community Center on campus,” said Matt Gonzalez, nursing major hopeful at CCM. “The remaining balance of my loan isn’t mailed as a check until the end of the second month of the semester, so using my student ID as a credit is more practical when buying textbooks that are needed early in the semester.”

Students from surrounding colleges agree that it’s easier to make one purchase at your campus bookstore.

“I just get all of my textbooks and online codes in the school bookstore,” said Bobby Plucinsky, student at Caldwell College. “It’s just easier because they normally have everything teachers require us to buy and it’s all in one place.”

Fellow Caldwell College student Rebecca Gerardi agreed. “I pay for my books online, print the confirmation, and simply get the books at school.”

“I get my books from Chegg. com,” said Courtney Maloney, student at County College of Morris. “I rent them because it’s a whole lot cheaper, and I don’t have to worry about the campus bookstore buying them back from me for a smaller price than what I got it for.”
Chegg.com, the self-proclaimed No. 1 site in textbook rentals, offers students the chance to save hundreds of dollars in renting or buying new and used textbooks.

“I rent a majority of my books from Chegg.com because it’s so much cheaper,” said Summer Haugh, freshman at Monmouth University. “But some of my reading materials, like my accounting and math textbooks, I need to order through the university so I can have online access codes.”

Some students choose to skip physical textbooks altogether.

“Amazon Kindle has an online bookstore,” said Sean Granata, student at Washington College. “When you purchase the Kindle Fire, you get access to the electronic book store and link your bank account to the store and your personal tablet reader.”
Granata, a double major in biology and business management, said the electronic bookstore noted he saved more than $200 in e-books, and it would be even cheaper if he were to rent them.

Leave a Reply

